Curried Eggs

Standard

Somewhere, I think after realizing my all time favorite dish of any food on the planet is Chicken Korma, as prepared by Saffron, a restaurant in West Palm Beach,saffron I decided I liked curry, and at first, I tried replicating their fantastic dish. Mine wasn’t as good, but it was really yummy. The problem is, it isn’t a low carb recipe. I will give you my recipe for Chicken Korma, chicken kormasomeday, but today, just suffice it to say it is the bridge that led me to my current standard breakfast.
About the time I developed this recipe, my doctor encourage me to reduce my salt intake, so I rediscovered my love of hot pepper. If you get enough pepper in your dish, you hardly notice the lack of salt! Now I loved to eat hot pickled Jalapenos, like candy, you might say. And I liked nice warm red chili peppers in my salad, but eventually, I made it to the hard stuff. Scottish Bonnets, or Habaneros, the funny thing is, in spite of what some folks will try to tell you, I am pretty sure they are both the same pepper. They look the same, they taste the same, and they both have about 250,000 Scoville units, as opposed to a Jalapeno which has about 15,000.
Anyway, every morning I chop up half of a Scottish Bonnet/Habanero, along with all the seeds from the whole pepper into a pan, formerly with 2 tablespoons of butter, now with the equivalent amount of chicken drippings, chop up about a ½ cup celery and a half cup of broccoli, add 4 oz ground beef, about a ½ teaspoon of fresh ground black pepper and maybe 2 teaspoons of curry, either Jamaican or Indian, I like both. I cook this covered over med high heat (6.5 out of 10 on my stovetop) until the vegies are slightly soft and the meat is well cooked.
While I am making our lunch salads, and yes, I make a killer green salad, (another time), I put a little iceberg lettuce in the bottom of my favorite salad bowl (I am nuts OCD, I have to have the same bowl every morning, even if I have to hand wash it, though usually it is in with the clean dishes inside the dishwasher), sprinkle about a tablespoon of shredded sharp cheddar, and big dollop of mayo.
When the meat and veggies are cooked enough, I throw a good hand full (about a cup) of fresh spinach in the pan, break two eggs into the pan and stir the eggs until all the spinach is egg coated. Turn the mixture over at least once to be sure to cook the eggs thoroughly, then add 1-2 tablespoons of heavy whipping cream, stir, and serve on top of the lettuce/cheese/mayo. I cut through the hot mixture with a steak knives and few times, then stir the cold up and the hot down. That, my friends is what I call curried eggs, and I also call it yummy!!!!

About anthonyuplandpoetwatkins

https://www.goodreads.com/AnthonyUplandpoetWatkins born in Jackson, The United States August 04, 1959 gender male website http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?contributorI... genre Poetry, Historical Fiction influences James M. Lancaster, Brenda Black White, Gertrude Stein, William Carlos Williams, and Al Filreis member since March 2011 About this author edit data As one of the most public lives ever lived by a private citizen, there is little about me that isn't already available at Facebook or Shelfari and countless other places. Poet, writer, construction worker, salesman, truck driver, climber into the attics of total strangers, father and husband, and all around one of the luckiest men on the planet. My luck continued with a win in the June Goodreads Newsletter Contest! What an honor! http://anthonyuplandpoetwatkins.wordp... Additional Influences: Bob Dylan, William Faulkner, Barbara Kingsolver, Gloria Naylor, Eudora Welty

Leave a Reply

